lamda light - Skyline Owners Forum

Welcome to the SkylineOwners.Com website. We aim to provide you with the largest knowledgebase anywhere on the internet for the Nissan Skyline.


Go Back   Skyline Owners Forum > Skyline Torque > General

General Skyline related chat only please
Sponsored By: www.OnlineCarParts.co.uk

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 19-10-2011, 11:18 PM   #1
Seasoned Member
 
objgts4's Avatar
 
Drives: r32 gts4,gen1 mivec colt
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: meath
Posts: 52
Club ID#: 32074

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
lamda light

hi everyone.need some help.hav an r32 gts-4.when im driving if i give it full power and it hits 5000rpm the lamda sencor light flashes on and off until i take my foot off the pedel.does anyone know wot it could be?
objgts4 is offline   Reply With Quote Share on facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 19-10-2011, 11:38 PM   #2
AKA Frenchie

Administrator

 
SPEEDR33PER's Avatar
 
Drives: R33 GTS-T,FULLY MODIFIED ESCORT VAN and the SNOOPYMOBIlE 2
Join Date: May 2006
Location: tillicoultry scotland
Posts: 25,943
Club ID#: 7722

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (13)


View My Pictures
first off skylines dont have lambda lights so ill presume its the cat temp sensor light?
__________________
WWW.JAPSPEED.CO.UK

skylineowners.com mechanic and mot tester
SCOTLAND,CLACKMANNAN
SAUDI ARABIA


Quote:
Originally Posted by andyneed4speed View Post

Nice to see the scottish contingent but I didn't realise we had the legendary Speedr33per in our midst
SPEEDR33PER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2011, 11:42 PM   #3
Everybody knows that the bird is the word
 
The Great White's Avatar
 
Drives: R32 GTS-t
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Auckland
Posts: 9,198
Club ID#: 23737

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPEEDR33PER View Post
first off skylines dont have lambda lights so ill presume its the cat temp sensor light?
+1

What does the pic on the warning light look like?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Poacher View Post
I've been rubbing and i've been pulling - for ages
"I believe that only scientists can understand the universe. It is not so much that I have confidence in scientists being right, but that I have so much in nonscientists being wrong." - Isaac Asimov
The Great White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2011, 12:07 AM   #4
Seasoned Member
 
objgts4's Avatar
 
Drives: r32 gts4,gen1 mivec colt
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: meath
Posts: 52
Club ID#: 32074

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
didnt no tht.its on the botem right of the cluster.is it normal for it to flash like tht whn its boasting?
objgts4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2011, 12:29 AM   #5
Everybody knows that the bird is the word
 
The Great White's Avatar
 
Drives: R32 GTS-t
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Auckland
Posts: 9,198
Club ID#: 23737

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
No, a flashing warning light is not normal... under any circumstances.
It's flashing for a reason... if it's the cat converter light, you probably just have a blocked cat.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Poacher View Post
I've been rubbing and i've been pulling - for ages
"I believe that only scientists can understand the universe. It is not so much that I have confidence in scientists being right, but that I have so much in nonscientists being wrong." - Isaac Asimov
The Great White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2011, 12:36 AM   #6
Seasoned Member
 
objgts4's Avatar
 
Drives: r32 gts4,gen1 mivec colt
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: meath
Posts: 52
Club ID#: 32074

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
ders a decat in it.can a decat pipe get blocked?
objgts4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2011, 12:40 AM   #7
Everybody knows that the bird is the word
 
The Great White's Avatar
 
Drives: R32 GTS-t
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Auckland
Posts: 9,198
Club ID#: 23737

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
This is the bottom right of the instrument cluster of my R32 GTS-t....
The light on the left is for the cat converter (mine was binned long ago, but the light still works on the dash)


__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Poacher View Post
I've been rubbing and i've been pulling - for ages
"I believe that only scientists can understand the universe. It is not so much that I have confidence in scientists being right, but that I have so much in nonscientists being wrong." - Isaac Asimov
The Great White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2011, 12:46 AM   #8
Everybody knows that the bird is the word
 
The Great White's Avatar
 
Drives: R32 GTS-t
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Auckland
Posts: 9,198
Club ID#: 23737

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Quote:
Originally Posted by objgts4 View Post
ders a decat in it.can a decat pipe get blocked?
I've never heard of an exhaust getting blocked... the sensor is probably loose or something.
But, to have the light come on at 5000rpm and knowing you don't have a cat makes me worried... the sensor for an item that's no longer present shouldn't bring up a warning light on the dash under specific conditions.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Poacher View Post
I've been rubbing and i've been pulling - for ages
"I believe that only scientists can understand the universe. It is not so much that I have confidence in scientists being right, but that I have so much in nonscientists being wrong." - Isaac Asimov
The Great White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2011, 12:56 AM   #9
Seasoned Member
 
objgts4's Avatar
 
Drives: r32 gts4,gen1 mivec colt
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: meath
Posts: 52
Club ID#: 32074

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
thts the same light tht fleshes on mine.does yours flash whn ur in boust?
objgts4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2011, 01:01 AM   #10
Seasoned Member
 
j_jskyline79's Avatar
 
Drives: Skyline gts25t 1995, 260z, 200sx S1 S14, Toyota 3lt twin cab ute and my wife completely Insane
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Far away from a lot of complete knobheads
Posts: 4,045
Club ID#: 12622

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (2)


View My Pictures
On a 32 I think it's used to fault find ECU error codes.
j_jskyline79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2011, 01:06 AM   #11
Seasoned Member
 
Wheeler's Avatar
 
Drives: R33 GTR
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Belfast
Posts: 449
Club ID#: 16470


Trade Feedback: (12)


View My Pictures
In the R32 manual it says..
"If an error occurs in the ECCS system during driving, the exhaust gas temperature warning lamp flashes in the combination meter"
__________________
SkylineOwners.com on Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/#!/group.php?gid=6402601034
Wheeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2011, 01:09 AM   #12
Everybody knows that the bird is the word
 
The Great White's Avatar
 
Drives: R32 GTS-t
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Auckland
Posts: 9,198
Club ID#: 23737

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Quote:
Originally Posted by objgts4 View Post
thts the same light tht fleshes on mine.does yours flash whn ur in boust?
Nope... what's happening to your car is definitely not normal


Quote:
Originally Posted by j_jskyline79 View Post
On a 32 I think it's used to fault find ECU error codes.
Hmm interesting... so it might be throwing a fault code at high revs under boost.

OP - I'd be getting that looked at before you potentially kill your engine
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Poacher View Post
I've been rubbing and i've been pulling - for ages
"I believe that only scientists can understand the universe. It is not so much that I have confidence in scientists being right, but that I have so much in nonscientists being wrong." - Isaac Asimov
The Great White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2011, 09:52 PM   #13
Seasoned Member
 
objgts4's Avatar
 
Drives: r32 gts4,gen1 mivec colt
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: meath
Posts: 52
Club ID#: 32074

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
would it show up on computer if i pluged it in?or has anyone got any sugestions as to what i shuld do?
objgts4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2019, Verticalscope Inc.