headgasket fitting... - Skyline Owners Forum

Welcome to the SkylineOwners.Com website. We aim to provide you with the largest knowledgebase anywhere on the internet for the Nissan Skyline.


Go Back   Skyline Owners Forum > Skyline Torque > General

General Skyline related chat only please
Sponsored By: www.OnlineCarParts.co.uk

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 28-04-2013, 05:42 PM   #1
brett
 
brettc245's Avatar
 
Drives: Nissan skyline r33 gtst on the stick
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Southampton,England
Posts: 709
Club ID#: 25328

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (5)


View My Pictures
headgasket fitting...

should you use gasket sealer when fitting a new headgasket on a rb25det or should you fit it dry?
__________________
seasoned member
brettc245 is offline   Reply With Quote Share on facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 28-04-2013, 05:49 PM   #2
xbox360 gamertag-chris16051982

Area Rep

 
chris23gtr's Avatar
 
Drives: skyline r33 gts type m
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: thirsk
Posts: 263
Club ID#: 16553

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Fit it dry but make sure the block and head are nice and shiney so it gets a good seal
chris23gtr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2013, 05:53 PM   #3
AKA Frenchie

Administrator

 
SPEEDR33PER's Avatar
 
Drives: R33 GTS-T,FULLY MODIFIED ESCORT VAN and the SNOOPYMOBIlE 2
Join Date: May 2006
Location: tillicoultry scotland
Posts: 25,943
Club ID#: 7722

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (13)


View My Pictures
Never use gasket sealer on a head gasket
__________________
WWW.JAPSPEED.CO.UK

skylineowners.com mechanic and mot tester
SCOTLAND,CLACKMANNAN
SAUDI ARABIA


Quote:
Originally Posted by andyneed4speed View Post

Nice to see the scottish contingent but I didn't realise we had the legendary Speedr33per in our midst
SPEEDR33PER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2013, 05:56 PM   #4
xbox360 gamertag-chris16051982

Area Rep

 
chris23gtr's Avatar
 
Drives: skyline r33 gts type m
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: thirsk
Posts: 263
Club ID#: 16553

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Exactly it wont sit right
chris23gtr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2013, 07:56 PM   #5
brett
 
brettc245's Avatar
 
Drives: Nissan skyline r33 gtst on the stick
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Southampton,England
Posts: 709
Club ID#: 25328

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (5)


View My Pictures
ok thanks,that is what i thought with these engines anyway, tho i know for a fact with some engines it states to use it.
__________________
seasoned member
brettc245 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2013, 08:04 PM   #6
AKA Frenchie

Administrator

 
SPEEDR33PER's Avatar
 
Drives: R33 GTS-T,FULLY MODIFIED ESCORT VAN and the SNOOPYMOBIlE 2
Join Date: May 2006
Location: tillicoultry scotland
Posts: 25,943
Club ID#: 7722

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (13)


View My Pictures
In all my years as a mechanic never have I came across a car that needs silicon for the head gasket
__________________
WWW.JAPSPEED.CO.UK

skylineowners.com mechanic and mot tester
SCOTLAND,CLACKMANNAN
SAUDI ARABIA


Quote:
Originally Posted by andyneed4speed View Post

Nice to see the scottish contingent but I didn't realise we had the legendary Speedr33per in our midst
SPEEDR33PER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2013, 08:07 PM   #7
Registered Chump
 
luke1979's Avatar
 
Drives: R33 GTST, Toyota Corolla SR, Ford Mondeo 1.8 Estate
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 1,944
Club ID#: 32385

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
i was shocked when was told to use liquid gasket on the thermostat housing.

you can get that liquid

http://compare.ebay.co.uk/like/30086...f13=80&ff14=63

but i wouldnt trust it

Last edited by luke1979; 28-04-2013 at 08:10 PM.
luke1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2013, 08:09 PM   #8
AKA Frenchie

Administrator

 
SPEEDR33PER's Avatar
 
Drives: R33 GTS-T,FULLY MODIFIED ESCORT VAN and the SNOOPYMOBIlE 2
Join Date: May 2006
Location: tillicoultry scotland
Posts: 25,943
Club ID#: 7722

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (13)


View My Pictures
Oh yes thermostat housing is fine mate
__________________
WWW.JAPSPEED.CO.UK

skylineowners.com mechanic and mot tester
SCOTLAND,CLACKMANNAN
SAUDI ARABIA


Quote:
Originally Posted by andyneed4speed View Post

Nice to see the scottish contingent but I didn't realise we had the legendary Speedr33per in our midst
SPEEDR33PER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2013, 08:12 PM   #9
Registered Chump
 
luke1979's Avatar
 
Drives: R33 GTST, Toyota Corolla SR, Ford Mondeo 1.8 Estate
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 1,944
Club ID#: 32385

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPEEDR33PER View Post
Oh yes thermostat housing is fine mate
you can get bad skim on occation on the head that will cause the gasket to blow again fairly qickly.

I know reeper it was you that told me that (i trusted you) doenst mean i wasnt shocked though
luke1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2013, 08:16 PM   #10
Registered Chump
 
luke1979's Avatar
 
Drives: R33 GTST, Toyota Corolla SR, Ford Mondeo 1.8 Estate
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 1,944
Club ID#: 32385

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Quote:
Originally Posted by brettc245 View Post
should you use gasket sealer when fitting a new headgasket on a rb25det or should you fit it dry?
are you still thinking the head as gone, was it not water in the exaust?
luke1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2013, 07:52 AM   #11
brett
 
brettc245's Avatar
 
Drives: Nissan skyline r33 gtst on the stick
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Southampton,England
Posts: 709
Club ID#: 25328

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (5)


View My Pictures
Quote:
Originally Posted by luke1979 View Post
are you still thinking the head as gone, was it not water in the exaust?
Yeah Its all pointing to the headgasket so it looks like il be fitting another.i fitted it dry the first time and was ok to start with but then started producing smoke.when i said some engines use a sealer on the headgasket,i didnt mean silicon,i meant something which never actually goes hard.
__________________
seasoned member

Last edited by brettc245; 29-04-2013 at 08:05 AM.
brettc245 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2013, 06:46 PM   #12
AKA Frenchie

Administrator

 
SPEEDR33PER's Avatar
 
Drives: R33 GTS-T,FULLY MODIFIED ESCORT VAN and the SNOOPYMOBIlE 2
Join Date: May 2006
Location: tillicoultry scotland
Posts: 25,943
Club ID#: 7722

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (13)


View My Pictures
Nope never use anything with the head gasket
__________________
WWW.JAPSPEED.CO.UK

skylineowners.com mechanic and mot tester
SCOTLAND,CLACKMANNAN
SAUDI ARABIA


Quote:
Originally Posted by andyneed4speed View Post

Nice to see the scottish contingent but I didn't realise we had the legendary Speedr33per in our midst
SPEEDR33PER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2013, 07:28 PM   #13
Seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 143
Club ID#: 43601


Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
i dont know if its you doing this job but there are a few things to watch bolting on a head if you never done one before. make sure both surfaces are flat clean and dry and the bolt holes are cleaned out also check the oil feed is clear and inspect surfaces for damage and if the cams are in make sure the the pistons are down before putting head back on and there is a bolt tightening sequence thats very important to spread the load evenly
poiuyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2013, 08:02 PM   #14
Registered Chump
 
luke1979's Avatar
 
Drives: R33 GTST, Toyota Corolla SR, Ford Mondeo 1.8 Estate
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 1,944
Club ID#: 32385

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
hes done it at least once and is a marine engineer i always put the crank as close to mid point as possible, just dont lose track of where you are like where are my pistons at, i mean you can feel when your turning a piston against a valve but it can be confusing if you are just blagging it like i always am.

are you going ot compression test it before you do this again as you said there is no fluid loss is this still the case ?

i mean the fluid has to go somewhere/something has to be making hte smoke/steam
luke1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2013, 08:17 PM   #15
Seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 143
Club ID#: 43601


Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
well that explains the silicone lol didnt mean to patronistic he could have been a right jubley for all i knew
poiuyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2019, Verticalscope Inc.