rb25 neo ecu MEGA retarding timing - Skyline Owners Forum

Welcome to the SkylineOwners.Com website. We aim to provide you with the largest knowledgebase anywhere on the internet for the Nissan Skyline.


Go Back   Skyline Owners Forum > Skyline Torque > General

General Skyline related chat only please
Sponsored By: www.OnlineCarParts.co.uk

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 30-04-2013, 01:08 PM   #1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 16
Club ID#: 44280


Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
rb25 neo ecu MEGA retarding timing

Hey guys I know I'm new to this forum so if I'm out of line please let me know. My name is mike I'm from huntsville al, live in va and in the navy. I'm 24 years old and have owned 3 rbs one r32 and drive nothing but Nissan s since I was 17. I have read this forum many times and decided to join for the sake you guys have your stuff together.I have searched this forum for my problem but couldnt find an exact solution. Hope you guys can help. I have a s13 stock neo 6 that has a huge ecu timing retardation problem. i tryed the knock sensor one mohm trick , didnt work. Hard timing is dead on cleaned the maf, plugs are gapped exact (32). Ngk laser platnium. the reason i know ecu .is pulling timing is when i advance the timing maxed out on the cas (counter clockwise) she runs better . When i set it to factory position(had it marked) it spits and spuuters wot. If i ease on the gas itll spitt a little bit ( 4 or 5) times . But will go to redline. Now, i had an extra cas that i cut the adjustment holes out so i could advance the timining beyond the factory settings. And it runs great, no sputter........ So thats why i concluded the ecu is retarding my timing. any ideas ? This is my 3rd rb and ive never seen this before. Thanks for all the help.
moped is offline   Reply With Quote Share on facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 30-04-2013, 01:14 PM   #2
Member
 
the locksmith's Avatar
 
Drives: the wife up the wall
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: pendle
Posts: 2,460
Club ID#: 23120

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (5)


View My Pictures
What mods have you on the engine and what fuel are you using?

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
__________________
when life throws you a curve.... wind on the throttle and put a knee down
the locksmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2013, 01:30 PM   #3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 16
Club ID#: 44280


Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
3 inch down pipe, cone filter that's it. Lol hell its even got factory side mount. Bp 93 octaane , 255 pump .
moped is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2013, 01:35 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 16
Club ID#: 44280


Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Oh smoke tested it, boost leaked tested it. No leaks at all.
moped is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2013, 01:39 PM   #5
Member
 
the locksmith's Avatar
 
Drives: the wife up the wall
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: pendle
Posts: 2,460
Club ID#: 23120

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (5)


View My Pictures
I would start by running 99 ron fuel and see if theres any impovement. There is instruction on how to properly adjust timing and you will prbably find it in the FAQ section. From memory im sure you have to do something with the ecu before adjusting the cas

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
__________________
when life throws you a curve.... wind on the throttle and put a knee down
the locksmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2013, 02:00 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 16
Club ID#: 44280


Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
I'm also running factory psi 6psi . Now I noticed that the ecu has no light or screw on it.... So
moped is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2013, 02:01 PM   #7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 16
Club ID#: 44280


Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
There is no way to reset it besides killing bat and pressing brake
moped is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2013, 02:42 PM   #8
Super Moderator
 
Tricky-Ricky's Avatar
 
Drives: Skyline 350GT 6 speed
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 8,935
Club ID#: 5836


Trade Feedback: (1)


View My Pictures
If you think the ECU is running on knock map IE default retarded timing then why not just replace the knock sensors?

If this is not the case then have you double checked the cam timing? as this will impact the ignition timing.
__________________
Pedants are men who would appear to be learned, without the necessary ingredient of knowledge.
- George Bancroft

Originally posted The Great White

"Nissan is like Lego"
Tricky-Ricky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2013, 05:03 PM   #9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 16
Club ID#: 44280


Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
I don't think its the knock sensor. I installed a 1mohm resistor to each signal wire. ( which tells the ecu everything is o.k.) on both signal wires. And still the ecu is pulling back timing .... Its baffling to me too. I guess what I'm trying to find out is what else would cause the ecu to retract timing that bad.? Like I said before even with the cas fully counter clockwise as advanced as possible it still drives like the timing is retarded. The hard timing is dead on. Checked 5 times plus..... never been this baffled..... Is there a way you have to special reset the ecu in any way there is no led or screw tho.. Thanks for all your input guys
moped is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2013, 06:50 PM   #10
Super Moderator
 
Tricky-Ricky's Avatar
 
Drives: Skyline 350GT 6 speed
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 8,935
Club ID#: 5836


Trade Feedback: (1)


View My Pictures
So your cam timing is also correct?

The only thing that makes the ECU pull timing is if knock is detected, i know of no other influence that would cause this.
__________________
Pedants are men who would appear to be learned, without the necessary ingredient of knowledge.
- George Bancroft

Originally posted The Great White

"Nissan is like Lego"
Tricky-Ricky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2013, 09:34 PM   #11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 16
Club ID#: 44280


Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Yes my hard cam timing is correct ..... So after reading the back deep dark secrets off Google I came across some info. The r and r or limp mode caused by knock only retards about 4 degrees....... Mine is WAY more than that. So upon reading some more I found out the coolant temp sensor for the ecu can retard your timing a lot more than that. So on to that for now. Ill let you guys know how it goes.
moped is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2013, 09:36 PM   #12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 16
Club ID#: 44280


Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
If the sensor is reading SUPER hot (failure of sensor) it will retard the hell out of timing and dump fuel to cool it down. I think this is what is happening.
moped is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2013, 09:41 PM   #13
Super Moderator
 
Tricky-Ricky's Avatar
 
Drives: Skyline 350GT 6 speed
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 8,935
Club ID#: 5836


Trade Feedback: (1)


View My Pictures
Really! AFAIK all the default for a duff ECU water temp sensor is to run the fueling pretty rich, which will lose you power and cause a misfire, that the first i have ever heard about it retarding ing timing.
What was the source of this info?

Do you have a wide-band AFR gauge to check the fueling?
__________________
Pedants are men who would appear to be learned, without the necessary ingredient of knowledge.
- George Bancroft

Originally posted The Great White

"Nissan is like Lego"
Tricky-Ricky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2013, 10:11 PM   #14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 16
Club ID#: 44280


Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Nope no wide ban. The info I believe came from like page 14 of a Google search from I think skyline aus .... Don't quote me on this I heard this and call my friend from my home town who does all of our wiring he said that it is very possible that an incorrect reading of temp will dump fuel and will retard timing a lot so you don't blow it. Just here say for now we will see if it is true.
moped is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2013, 10:12 PM   #15
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 16
Club ID#: 44280


Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Are you in Norfolk va?
moped is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2019, Verticalscope Inc.