lag before 4,000rpm - Skyline Owners Forum

Welcome to the SkylineOwners.Com website. We aim to provide you with the largest knowledgebase anywhere on the internet for the Nissan Skyline.


Go Back   Skyline Owners Forum > Skyline Torque > General

General Skyline related chat only please
Sponsored By: www.OnlineCarParts.co.uk

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 06-06-2007, 11:56 PM   #1
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 92
Club ID#: 10821


Trade Feedback: (1)


View My Pictures
lag before 4,000rpm

lads

ive found my car to have a slight bit of lag before 4k then it just takes off like a rocket up the road , now i put an air filter on it and it mad the problem 10 times worse , the car just had a full trust exhaust inc decat and down pipe and also a trust panal filter thats it , i though at first it was the actuator sticking but its itd holding 0.5bar boost fine no drop at all ...so now im thinking mybe airflow meter ???

anyone have any idea?

cheers

rab
iamrab is offline   Reply With Quote Share on facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-06-2007, 11:58 PM   #2
tdi power
 
iansr33's Avatar
 
Drives: Focus Zetec S
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: in my own little world
Posts: 13,297
Club ID#: 9563

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (24)


View My Pictures
mine did this and it did turn out to be the afm.
__________________
SOME PEOPLE ARE LIKE SLINKIES - NOT REALLY GOOD FOR ANYTHING BUT THEY BRING A SMILE TO YOUR FACE WHEN PUSHED DOWN THE STAIRS.
You can drink an ugly chick hot,but you can't drink a fat girl skinny
iansr33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 12:00 AM   #3
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 92
Club ID#: 10821


Trade Feedback: (1)


View My Pictures
yea ian im sorta thinking that as well

is there any way that u can throw up a fault code on theses cars ?
iamrab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 12:19 AM   #4
bla
 
Endorx's Avatar
 
Drives: Triangle
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 17,374
Club ID#: 9482

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (37)


View My Pictures
see if theres anyone near with decent coilpacks, splitfires!!! Ask if they can swap to check.... Should be ok with it... I loaned mine to sir nodrick and it was the coils....

So you will know wat to spend your dough on before you splash it all out and the problem hasnt been fixed....
__________________
"YOU ARE NECKS!!!"

PS3 Gamer Tag = vV-RamPager-Vv
Endorx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 12:31 PM   #5
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 92
Club ID#: 10821


Trade Feedback: (1)


View My Pictures
with coil packs tho would it not jump on and off a pot? this is just lag its like your actator is open and not building any pressure ...hmmmm

im gona change the coils anyway to spitfire ones i think cos the nissans are wild for braking the oe ones
iamrab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 07:44 PM   #6
tdi power
 
iansr33's Avatar
 
Drives: Focus Zetec S
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: in my own little world
Posts: 13,297
Club ID#: 9563

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (24)


View My Pictures
i got myself a blatz cable and datascan software which can read fault codes and show up to 12 different reading from the engine.
__________________
SOME PEOPLE ARE LIKE SLINKIES - NOT REALLY GOOD FOR ANYTHING BUT THEY BRING A SMILE TO YOUR FACE WHEN PUSHED DOWN THE STAIRS.
You can drink an ugly chick hot,but you can't drink a fat girl skinny
iansr33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 07:48 PM   #7
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 92
Club ID#: 10821


Trade Feedback: (1)


View My Pictures
a right theres no way of making the car flash up the eml light a certain number of times ? then for example its flashes 5 times it mite be afm or 6 times would be tps and so on ?
iamrab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 09:24 PM   #8
Member No 48
 
floyd's Avatar
 
Drives: Tomei Built R32 GTR
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South Wales
Posts: 1,192
Club ID#: 362


Trade Feedback: (1)


View My Pictures
Have you reset the ecu since you did the mods? If not, do it first before doing any fault diagnosis. The ecu needs to relearn your new engine settings now that you've freed up the breathing.
__________________
I drank the wine, I ate the food,
I did the right thing!!
floyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 09:30 PM   #9
tdi power
 
iansr33's Avatar
 
Drives: Focus Zetec S
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: in my own little world
Posts: 13,297
Club ID#: 9563

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (24)


View My Pictures
the cable and software are only around 70 quid from flea bay. looks good on the laptop as you drivealong
__________________
SOME PEOPLE ARE LIKE SLINKIES - NOT REALLY GOOD FOR ANYTHING BUT THEY BRING A SMILE TO YOUR FACE WHEN PUSHED DOWN THE STAIRS.
You can drink an ugly chick hot,but you can't drink a fat girl skinny
iansr33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 10:07 PM   #10
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 92
Club ID#: 10821


Trade Feedback: (1)


View My Pictures
Quote:
Originally Posted by floyd View Post
Have you reset the ecu since you did the mods? If not, do it first before doing any fault diagnosis. The ecu needs to relearn your new engine settings now that you've freed up the breathing.

no didnt even think of doing that , never needed to do it on any other car that ive owned and honestly didnt think that made any difference doing that,surely your ecu has some sort of self learning ?
iamrab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 11:06 PM   #11
Seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,390
Club ID#: 9737

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (7)


View My Pictures
ok , how do you reset the ecu?
and is it different for the r32 and the r33?
sarge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 11:10 PM   #12
tdi power
 
iansr33's Avatar
 
Drives: Focus Zetec S
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: in my own little world
Posts: 13,297
Club ID#: 9563

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (24)


View My Pictures
i will show you tomorrow old man need to do mine too
__________________
SOME PEOPLE ARE LIKE SLINKIES - NOT REALLY GOOD FOR ANYTHING BUT THEY BRING A SMILE TO YOUR FACE WHEN PUSHED DOWN THE STAIRS.
You can drink an ugly chick hot,but you can't drink a fat girl skinny
iansr33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 11:28 PM   #13
Member No 48
 
floyd's Avatar
 
Drives: Tomei Built R32 GTR
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South Wales
Posts: 1,192
Club ID#: 362


Trade Feedback: (1)


View My Pictures
To reset the ecu...easy way.
1. Find yourself a nice quiet road preferably in the evening (air is cooler).
2. Stop car at side of road switch off ignition.
3. Disconnect positive battery lead from battery.
4. Sit in drivers seat and press brake pedal for 60 sec's (dissipates stored electrical energy in ecu).
5. Reconnect positive battery lead. (make sure the steering wheels are pointing straight ahead or it mucks up the hicas before you do this).
6. Start car and give it beans in the first three gears 3-4 times.
Your ecu will relearn your new settings.
__________________
I drank the wine, I ate the food,
I did the right thing!!
floyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 11:49 PM   #14
tdi power
 
iansr33's Avatar
 
Drives: Focus Zetec S
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: in my own little world
Posts: 13,297
Club ID#: 9563

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (24)


View My Pictures
mmmmmmm i was told different

3. dissconnect negative side
4. press brake pedal few times
5. reconnect battery lead
6. idle for ten mins, steady drive for ten mins then ten mins of bat out of hell
__________________
SOME PEOPLE ARE LIKE SLINKIES - NOT REALLY GOOD FOR ANYTHING BUT THEY BRING A SMILE TO YOUR FACE WHEN PUSHED DOWN THE STAIRS.
You can drink an ugly chick hot,but you can't drink a fat girl skinny
iansr33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2019, Verticalscope Inc.