kph- mph - Skyline Owners Forum

Welcome to the SkylineOwners.Com website. We aim to provide you with the largest knowledgebase anywhere on the internet for the Nissan Skyline.


Go Back   Skyline Owners Forum > Skyline Torque > General

General Skyline related chat only please
Sponsored By: www.OnlineCarParts.co.uk

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 17-09-2007, 08:42 PM   #1
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 61
Club ID#: 12700


Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
kph- mph

ive just got an imported skyline r33 and my speedo is all in kph and not mph is it worth trying to get a need speedo head or getting a little gauge that tells me what i am doing in mph as i would like to know?
speedfreak9000 is offline   Reply With Quote Share on facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 17-09-2007, 08:50 PM   #2
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 218
Club ID#: 7540


Trade Feedback: (1)


View My Pictures
you can buy a de-limiter box or a speedo converter or for the ultimate get nismo 33 gts clocks ;) all can convert to mph,
dunno which is best but we have the de-limiter box works to 70 mph then the speedo goes to 0 lol, ( shuts it's eyes ) does de-limit though,
were gonna get the nismo clocks as soon as the kidney sells on e-bay ;)
Matt
buffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2007, 08:51 PM   #3
tonyturbo mk2
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 526
Club ID#: 3094


Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Quote:
Originally Posted by speedfreak9000 View Post
ive just got an imported skyline r33 and my speedo is all in kph and not mph is it worth trying to get a need speedo head or getting a little gauge that tells me what i am doing in mph as i would like to know?
hi mate just get the spedo converter as this will change it to mph and derestrit the car aswell these cost about 40pound
tonyturbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2007, 08:52 PM   #4
tonyturbo mk2
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 526
Club ID#: 3094


Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by buffy View Post
you can buy a de-limiter box or a speedo converter or for the ultimate get nismo 33 gts clocks ;) all can convert to mph,
dunno which is best but we have the de-limiter box works to 70 mph then the speedo goes to 0 lol, ( shuts it's eyes ) does de-limit though,
were gonna get the nismo clocks as soon as the kidney sells on e-bay ;)
Matt
dam you beat me
tonyturbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2007, 08:56 PM   #5
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 61
Club ID#: 12700


Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
so if my car going to be limited? what will it be limited to? seems to get up to 120 mph ok and is still pulling? what can i get the convertor from?
speedfreak9000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2007, 09:02 PM   #6
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 218
Club ID#: 7540


Trade Feedback: (1)


View My Pictures
if its limited it will feel like hitting a limiter at 112 mph = 180 kmph, no matter what gear your in it wont go faster unless down hill and you take it by surprise ;)
buffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2007, 09:05 PM   #7
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 61
Club ID#: 12700


Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
i see well its gone off the clock at like 180 kph and seemed like it was still pulling have to get my mate next to me in his car to tell me if im going any quicker then? not sure if mines been de limited or not where can i get a delimiter from if its not been?
speedfreak9000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2007, 09:09 PM   #8
tonyturbo mk2
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 526
Club ID#: 3094


Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
help

Quote:
Originally Posted by speedfreak9000 View Post
i see well its gone off the clock at like 180 kph and seemed like it was still pulling have to get my mate next to me in his car to tell me if im going any quicker then? not sure if mines been de limited or not where can i get a delimiter from if its not been?
sounds to me like yours allready been done so should be in mph allready take the clocks out and see if there is a black box there you will see becase the wires would have been change aswell
tonyturbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2007, 09:16 PM   #9
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 61
Club ID#: 12700


Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
ok will do seems to go quite quick and pulls well but the clocks are all in kpm and not a sign of mph on them when you get the kit do u get all new clocks then to get mph shown?
speedfreak9000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2007, 09:20 PM   #10
tonyturbo mk2
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 526
Club ID#: 3094


Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
clocks

Quote:
Originally Posted by speedfreak9000 View Post
ok will do seems to go quite quick and pulls well but the clocks are all in kpm and not a sign of mph on them when you get the kit do u get all new clocks then to get mph shown?
no mate the clocks will look the same as they do standerd but the will just be reading in mph so say your doing 60 kph and its has been done allready then you will realy be doing 60 mph you can buy them of ebay
tonyturbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2007, 09:39 PM   #11
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 61
Club ID#: 12700


Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
o ok i get u know il have to check it out havent really looked at that!
speedfreak9000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2007, 09:46 PM   #12
Number 1 Monkey
 
DVDA 1980's Avatar
 
Drives: Skyline GTS-T
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dudley
Posts: 591
Club ID#: 8125

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (1)


View My Pictures
There is a nice how to thread if you are a bit handy with a knife & soldering Iron for converting your stock clocks without spending £40.

Mine are still in Km's - left it for the odometer to be correct. Just delimited my clocks
__________________
Buy my car here:- https://www.skylineowners.com/forum/s...35#post1174735
DVDA 1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2007, 09:46 PM   #13
Belgium/Netherlands Area Rep
 
SARU's Avatar
 
Drives: pushbike usually
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: b€lGium
Posts: 2,060
Club ID#: 9287

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (13)


View My Pictures
if you can get up to 120 mph and its still pulling then it is already derestricted as the limiter kicks in at 112mph
SARU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2007, 09:49 PM   #14
Number 1 Monkey
 
DVDA 1980's Avatar
 
Drives: Skyline GTS-T
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dudley
Posts: 591
Club ID#: 8125

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (1)


View My Pictures
my limiter used to kick in at around 120 - stopped accelerating. Got rid of the limiter and the car pulls right through.
__________________
Buy my car here:- https://www.skylineowners.com/forum/s...35#post1174735
DVDA 1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2007, 10:02 PM   #15
Seasoned Member
 
Jules's Avatar
 
Drives: Quashqai, wifes R33 GTST
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Verwood
Posts: 113
Club ID#: 11827


Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
I did my clocks the other week with Stusy, pretty straight forward, i'm within about 1mph accuracy with the GPS. There is a big how to here https://www.skylineowners.com/forum/s...edo+conversion

I had a chip in mine before and it was about 7mph out.
__________________
My wife is great, if I behave I can drive the car!
But i still have to clean it
Jules is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2019, Verticalscope Inc.