can some1 help with consult please? - Skyline Owners Forum

Welcome to the SkylineOwners.Com website. We aim to provide you with the largest knowledgebase anywhere on the internet for the Nissan Skyline.


Go Back   Skyline Owners Forum > Events and Meets > Local Events > Wales


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 19-08-2014, 05:30 PM   #1
Seasoned Member
 
Drives: r33 gtst spec1
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: S. Wales
Posts: 305
Club ID#: 48045

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
can some1 help with consult please?

my hicas has been funny ever since I bought the r33, only came on some times after driving 50 miles or so.

but the other week its started coming on, sometimes on start up and steering going very heavy.

have tried doing the diagnostic check but its not working. maybe because ive already got an issue?

can someone local to me help by using their consult cable and software help diagnose the issue?

thanks kris
krisrt is offline   Reply With Quote Share on facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 19-08-2014, 11:13 PM   #2
Old Git Having Fun....
 
MilleMigliaDave's Avatar
 
Drives: R33 GTS-t
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: North Hampshire
Posts: 385
Club ID#: 35663

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (2)


View My Pictures
Consult cable off eBay only about 20 quid and ECU Talk software free - think it does HICAS - will check in the morning. I'm too far away to help (will be back in Haverfordwest next July but I bet you don't want to wait that long!) but for 20 quid you then have the means to read all the ECU stuff as well....

Hope that helps,

Dave
MilleMigliaDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2014, 11:18 PM   #3
Moderator

Moderator

 
StuartTheFish's Avatar
 
Drives: Spec 1 GTS25t
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Harrogate
Posts: 12,294
Club ID#: 25144

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (1)


View My Pictures
Ecutalk doesn't do hicas, it's only paid for versions of some software that do it, such as datascan, conzult, etc.
StuartTheFish is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 19-08-2014, 11:26 PM   #4
Old Git Having Fun....
 
MilleMigliaDave's Avatar
 
Drives: R33 GTS-t
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: North Hampshire
Posts: 385
Club ID#: 35663

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (2)


View My Pictures
Quote:
Originally Posted by StuartTheFish View Post
Ecutalk doesn't do hicas, it's only paid for versions of some software that do it, such as datascan, conzult, etc.
Ah, my bad....

Thankfully my HICAS is behaving since changing to the later control unit so haven't had to look.....
MilleMigliaDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2014, 11:33 PM   #5
Moderator

Moderator

 
StuartTheFish's Avatar
 
Drives: Spec 1 GTS25t
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Harrogate
Posts: 12,294
Club ID#: 25144

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (1)


View My Pictures
No problem mate.

Provided your steering angle sensor is working, you can check for hicas error codes easily enough. It tells you how in my hicas thread if you've not read it already, but it only works if the hicas light is off at the time. And like I say the steering angle sensor has to be working.

Last edited by StuartTheFish; 19-08-2014 at 11:35 PM.
StuartTheFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2014, 07:23 AM   #6
Seasoned Member
 
Drives: r33 gtst spec1
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: S. Wales
Posts: 305
Club ID#: 48045

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Yes ive read your thread, very good read too. But unfortunately I couldnt get the self check to work.

I have one maybe 2 obvious issues. One being a mph converter on back of cluster which im planning on removing and doing the nissan convert method, when I get time.

and two I have an aftermarket steering wheel but not sure about the boss.

how do I check if its hicas compatable?

Thanks kris

p.s. ive bought the cables off ebay so ill have a play when they turn up, just need to find out where to get spftware fr0m first.
krisrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2014, 09:38 AM   #7
Moderator

Moderator

 
StuartTheFish's Avatar
 
Drives: Spec 1 GTS25t
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Harrogate
Posts: 12,294
Club ID#: 25144

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (1)


View My Pictures
Take your wheel off and see if your steering angle sensor is still there. Your boss should have a rectangular hole in it for the prong to slot into. If it doesn't, that's likely the reason you can't read error codes, and also likely to be the fault you're having.
StuartTheFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2014, 09:53 AM   #8
Seasoned Member
 
Drives: r33 gtst spec1
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: S. Wales
Posts: 305
Club ID#: 48045

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Quote:
Originally Posted by StuartTheFish View Post
Take your wheel off and see if your steering angle sensor is still there. Your boss should have a rectangular hole in it for the prong to slot into. If it doesn't, that's likely the reason you can't read error codes, and also likely to be the fault you're having.
Thanks for the info will have a look.
krisrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2019, Verticalscope Inc.