Wiring a home thermostat? - Skyline Owners Forum

Welcome to the SkylineOwners.Com website. We aim to provide you with the largest knowledgebase anywhere on the internet for the Nissan Skyline.


Go Back   Skyline Owners Forum > Off Topic > Lounge


Lounge Use this forum for non-skyline chat

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 17-06-2014, 02:46 PM   #1
Punch me.
 
Poirot's Avatar
 
Drives: 5.5 V8
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Londonish
Posts: 9,398
Club ID#: 5685


Trade Feedback: (18)


View My Pictures
Wiring a home thermostat?

Hi,



I have an "Ideal, independent C35" combi boiler and wish to fit my nest thermostat, it only has three wires running to the thermostat and one of those is an earth.



The wire marked "L" would seem to be marked on the nest control unit but where should I fit the other two wires?



Present thermostat

http://i993.photobucket.com/albums/a...psbfabcc24.jpg





Present Boiler

http://i993.photobucket.com/albums/a...ps33845d3e.jpg





Present wiring inside thermostat (L, SL and earth?)

http://i993.photobucket.com/albums/a...ps713d8b61.jpg





Nest control unit

http://i993.photobucket.com/albums/a...psc9bf3da8.jpg





If anyone could help please? Dont want to damage anything and am a bit unsure.
__________________
www.skylineowners.com
Poirot is offline   Reply With Quote Share on facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 17-06-2014, 05:11 PM   #2
Member
 
2410Davie's Avatar
 
Drives: Skyline R32
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Penicuik
Posts: 4,533
Club ID#: 37679

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (5)


View My Pictures
Your old one has

L - Live
SL - Switched Live
Earth

Your new one needs

L - Live
N - Neutral

2 - Common which will be a live feed usually
3 - which will be same as your SL on the old one

Your old one doesn't seem to have a neutral which is odd.....lol, I think you need to run a new cable as your a couple wires short, it's odd your old one doesn't have neutral. Didn't you get an instruction book with it that tells you?

Davie

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
2410Davie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2014, 09:58 PM   #3
Punch me.
 
Poirot's Avatar
 
Drives: 5.5 V8
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Londonish
Posts: 9,398
Club ID#: 5685


Trade Feedback: (18)


View My Pictures
Thanks for your help Dave.

Here are some diagrams, do they shed any more light?



__________________
www.skylineowners.com
Poirot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2014, 02:00 PM   #4
Seasoned Member
 
vangeezer's Avatar
 
Drives: R34 GTT
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Somerset
Posts: 1,714
Club ID#: 31616

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (3)


View My Pictures
Yeh you need a 3 core and earth cable as opposed to 2 core and earth. A live and neutral to feed the stat and a return so when the stat calls it switches to the return core and fires up the boiler.
__________________
Oo_____oO

My project thread so far...
https://www.skylineowners.com/forum/s...d.php?t=196982
vangeezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2014, 02:09 PM   #5
Punch me.
 
Poirot's Avatar
 
Drives: 5.5 V8
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Londonish
Posts: 9,398
Club ID#: 5685


Trade Feedback: (18)


View My Pictures
I spoke to a nest installer yesterday evening and booked him in for Friday, he quoted me 75 for the installation, I'll add more info after that has happened, I did explain to him that there was only three wires including the earth and he didn't seem bothered by this?

The boiler is quite a way from the thermostat, maybe he intends to change the location of the control unit to somewhere closer to the boiler and mount the wireless unit where the thermostat was.
__________________
www.skylineowners.com
Poirot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2014, 02:30 PM   #6
Seasoned Member
 
Cherry Boy's Avatar
 
Drives: Skyline R33 GTST Spec 2
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Leicestershire
Posts: 172
Club ID#: 42374

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Wiring a home thermostat?

I bought a new drayton wireless unit for my crappy old gravity feed boiler. Didn't install it properly so I called Drayton help desk. The chaps asked me what colour wires I hand then told me step by step which goes where. Give your helpdesk a try.
Cherry Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2014, 04:33 PM   #7
Seasoned Member
 
vangeezer's Avatar
 
Drives: R34 GTT
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Somerset
Posts: 1,714
Club ID#: 31616

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (3)


View My Pictures
Hopefully he's not guna use the earth as a switch return as is often the case and have seen time and time again!
__________________
Oo_____oO

My project thread so far...
https://www.skylineowners.com/forum/s...d.php?t=196982
vangeezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2014, 09:32 AM   #8
Punch me.
 
Poirot's Avatar
 
Drives: 5.5 V8
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Londonish
Posts: 9,398
Club ID#: 5685


Trade Feedback: (18)


View My Pictures
So it would seem that the best way would be to install this right next to the boiler?

That way it can be wired easily with the correct wires?

The unit is just a control unit to control the wireless thermostat so it would seem this may make for an easy install?

I could wire it to the boiler and place the thermostat where ever I like, will it be that easy?
__________________
www.skylineowners.com
Poirot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2014, 10:45 AM   #9
Seasoned Member
 
vangeezer's Avatar
 
Drives: R34 GTT
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Somerset
Posts: 1,714
Club ID#: 31616

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (3)


View My Pictures
Sorry I can't see the images clearly as I'm on my phone and click in on them doesn't bring up the image but the last combi boiler I connected up with wireless stat all it needed was a feed from a fused spur and there was like a module receiver on the front of the boiler which then picked up the signal from the wireless room stat. So your existing room stat can be blanked off and the wireless one will send the signal to the boiler to start.
__________________
Oo_____oO

My project thread so far...
https://www.skylineowners.com/forum/s...d.php?t=196982
vangeezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2014, 11:45 AM   #10
Punch me.
 
Poirot's Avatar
 
Drives: 5.5 V8
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Londonish
Posts: 9,398
Club ID#: 5685


Trade Feedback: (18)


View My Pictures
Well I have the boiler wiring diagram here. (page 27-28)
http://idealboilers.com/installer/wp...ion-Manual.pdf

The live and the neutral would seem obvious but what other wires would I need to add to the control unit?
__________________
www.skylineowners.com
Poirot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2014, 02:34 PM   #11
Seasoned Member
 
vangeezer's Avatar
 
Drives: R34 GTT
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Somerset
Posts: 1,714
Club ID#: 31616

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (3)


View My Pictures
On combi boilers you don't need a separate programmer to choose when you want the central heating on etc it's all programmable on the front of the boiler itself. Your current programmer will be redundant as will your room stat. So all you need is a fused spur with a 3A fuse and all the internal wiring is inside the boiler as long as you got power to the boiler and you program it, it will do the rest. And the wireless stat just sends the signal to the boiler to call for heating as and when required if it's in the right time scale you programmed it to. So if you only want heating to potentially come on between say 5-8pm then the stat can call for heat all day long but the internal programmer won't allow the boiler to fire up until 5pm. And as for hot water out the tap that is purely on demand. Does that make sense?
__________________
Oo_____oO

My project thread so far...
https://www.skylineowners.com/forum/s...d.php?t=196982
vangeezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2014, 02:55 PM   #12
Punch me.
 
Poirot's Avatar
 
Drives: 5.5 V8
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Londonish
Posts: 9,398
Club ID#: 5685


Trade Feedback: (18)


View My Pictures
These ones are a bit different, they know if you out or if you have a lie in due to movement sensors, they learn what temps you like and when, so they are a lot better than a normal timer in that respect and make the timer redundant.
__________________
www.skylineowners.com
Poirot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2014, 04:15 PM   #13
Seasoned Member
 
vangeezer's Avatar
 
Drives: R34 GTT
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Somerset
Posts: 1,714
Club ID#: 31616

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (3)


View My Pictures
Lol what's wrong with a conventional system these days haha!!! I wasn't even aware this sort of thing existed with the movement sensors? Does that mean if your in bed and not moving the boiler won't fire up? What if you go away for a week on holiday in the depths of winter the pipes will freeze if the boiler doesn't kick in?
__________________
Oo_____oO

My project thread so far...
https://www.skylineowners.com/forum/s...d.php?t=196982
vangeezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2014, 04:25 PM   #14
Punch me.
 
Poirot's Avatar
 
Drives: 5.5 V8
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Londonish
Posts: 9,398
Club ID#: 5685


Trade Feedback: (18)


View My Pictures
The thermostat learns what time you get up and puts it on before you rise, if you get up early it senses it.

It also monitors weather reports so knows if its snowing or freezing temps etc.

You just fit it and forget, never adjust temp, never turn off before you go out etc etc.
__________________
www.skylineowners.com
Poirot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2019, Verticalscope Inc.