Excel Wizard required ( IT ) - Skyline Owners Forum

Welcome to the SkylineOwners.Com website. We aim to provide you with the largest knowledgebase anywhere on the internet for the Nissan Skyline.


Go Back   Skyline Owners Forum > Off Topic > Lounge

Lounge Use this forum for non-skyline chat

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 24-08-2005, 06:52 PM   #1
2.8 HKSステップ3 、 PMJのまたはGtr
 
AppleJack's Avatar
 
Drives: Project PMJ ( Gotta Find one)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Anywhere the car takes me
Posts: 3,072
Club ID#: 6

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Excel Wizard required ( IT )

I am after some info.. I have seen it done so I know its possible , really simple I jjust cant think how its done...

I want to populate a cell in a worksheet with the date that the cell is updated but I need it done automatically... so when the cell is clicked the date appears... or the spreadsheet updated and saved the date appears .. you get the idea...

Any help appreciated... TA!
__________________
PMJ
====================
"Research is what I'm doing when I don't know what I'm doing"
You must have me confused with someone who gives a shit
Finally A32 GTR Has come home again and shredded a belt
AppleJack is offline   Reply With Quote Share on facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 24-08-2005, 07:03 PM   #2
N=8
Seasoned Member
 
N=8's Avatar
 
Drives: E39 540i
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 592
Club ID#: 742


Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
You can use '=NOW()', this will fill the cell with the current date, it will only be updated when the sheet is recalculated, or the cell is used in a macro. Is this any good for what you want?


Simon.
__________________
If it ain't broke... you're not driving fast enough!
N=8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2005, 07:12 PM   #3
2.8 HKSステップ3 、 PMJのまたはGtr
 
AppleJack's Avatar
 
Drives: Project PMJ ( Gotta Find one)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Anywhere the car takes me
Posts: 3,072
Club ID#: 6

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Thanks, I have that and =today() but that requires it to be manual , same as control and ; gives the date, if there is no calculation as such on the sheet how can =today() be updated to cover each entry...?
__________________
PMJ
====================
"Research is what I'm doing when I don't know what I'm doing"
You must have me confused with someone who gives a shit
Finally A32 GTR Has come home again and shredded a belt
AppleJack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2005, 08:05 PM   #4
C&C
Seasoned Member
 
C&C's Avatar
 
Drives: R32 GTR
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Middlesex
Posts: 5
Club ID#: 1366


Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Don't know if this is any use, but it will update the current date/time (using =NOW() ) in a cell when the cell is clicked.

Basically, record a macro:
Start recording
enter "=NOW()" in the cell you want
stop recording

Then using the "insert picture/autoshapes" command, draw a little square on (say) the top left of the same cell.

Then right click on the square and select "assign macro" to the square, and assign the macro you've just recorded.

After that, every time you click on the square, it will run the macro, re-pasting the formula in the cell, and so update the time/date.

Finally, rather than just have the square in one corner, you could re-shape the square to be the exact shape of the cell. This will blank out the date/time behind. Then re-format the shape (right-click/format autoshape) so that the "fill" is set to "no fill". The square will now be transparent, and you can see the date/time again - which will be updated each time you click on it.

Dunno if it's any use?

Conrad.

Last edited by C&C; 25-08-2005 at 08:08 PM.
C&C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2005, 08:07 PM   #5
Seasoned Member
 
Moff's Avatar
 
Drives:
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Wokingham
Posts: 4,436
Club ID#: 16493

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (23)


View My Pictures
Can you copy the code from the header or footer that does it when you print a document ?

Moff
Moff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2005, 08:19 PM   #6
Seasoned Member
 
Grinder's Avatar
 
Drives: R32 GTR, Cit C4
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: South Essex
Posts: 2,262
Club ID#: 426

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Piece of cake - needs a macro gimme 10 minutes.
Grinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2005, 08:35 PM   #7
Seasoned Member
 
Grinder's Avatar
 
Drives: R32 GTR, Cit C4
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: South Essex
Posts: 2,262
Club ID#: 426

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Can I ask where you want the date to go - in the cell that has been clicked ? ...or in the cell next to one that has been updated?
Grinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2005, 09:01 PM   #8
Seasoned Member
 
Grinder's Avatar
 
Drives: R32 GTR, Cit C4
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: South Essex
Posts: 2,262
Club ID#: 426

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Alright, well whatever.

To enter the macro into the worksheet you are working in, go to the Tools menu, select 'Macro', then 'Visual Basic editor'.

Double-click the sheet in the 'VBA Project' section. Paste in the below:


Private Sub Worksheet_SelectionChange(ByVal Target As Range)

If Right(Target.Value, 10) <> Format(Now(), "DD/MM/YYYY") Then

If IsDate(Right(Target.Value, 10)) Then
Target.Value = Left(Target.Value, Len(Target.Value) - 10)
End If

Target.Value = Target.Value & " " & Format(Now(), "DD/MM/YYYY")

End If

End Sub



If you want it to appear in the cell-note (so that the date only appears when you hover over the cell it looks more like this:

Private Sub Worksheet_SelectionChange(ByVal Target As Range)

Target.NoteText Format(Now(), "DD/MM/YYYY")

End Sub


Although that assumes you are not using the cell notes already and you have enabled the hover feature in Tools/Options/View 'Comment Indicator'.
Grinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2005, 10:19 PM   #9
2.8 HKSステップ3 、 PMJのまたはGtr
 
AppleJack's Avatar
 
Drives: Project PMJ ( Gotta Find one)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Anywhere the car takes me
Posts: 3,072
Club ID#: 6

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
cool... I will give that a play tomorrow,,,, big thanks...
__________________
PMJ
====================
"Research is what I'm doing when I don't know what I'm doing"
You must have me confused with someone who gives a shit
Finally A32 GTR Has come home again and shredded a belt
AppleJack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2005, 04:25 PM   #10
2.8 HKSステップ3 、 PMJのまたはGtr
 
AppleJack's Avatar
 
Drives: Project PMJ ( Gotta Find one)
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Anywhere the car takes me
Posts: 3,072
Club ID#: 6

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Thats bloody brilliant, except it puts the date in every cell I click on... how do I get it to just work on clumn A ?
__________________
PMJ
====================
"Research is what I'm doing when I don't know what I'm doing"
You must have me confused with someone who gives a shit
Finally A32 GTR Has come home again and shredded a belt
AppleJack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2005, 04:32 PM   #11
M's Factory
 
Sarky_FCUK's Avatar
 
Drives: R34 Nismo
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Reading A Technical Manual
Posts: 5,240
Club ID#: 74


Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
lol Quack you make me laugh.
__________________
13.2 @ 104 2003 Santa Pod

Some people are like a Slinky's.....not really good for anything, but you still can't help but smile when you see one tumble down the stairs.

__________________________
HQ Now SHUT

3 Skylines ( 1xR31RB30 2xR32??? 1xR34 )
1 VW Bora TDI
1 Volvo T5 - 310HP - SOLD !
Time to sell some things. watch Gay-bay for details.
Sarky_FCUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2005, 11:14 PM   #12
Seasoned Member
 
Grinder's Avatar
 
Drives: R32 GTR, Cit C4
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: South Essex
Posts: 2,262
Club ID#: 426

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Quote:
Originally Posted by AppleJack
Thats bloody brilliant, except it puts the date in every cell I click on... how do I get it to just work on clumn A ?
Sorry, welcome to IT - you never stated exactly what you want, so now it will cost extra to fix.

Been away for the bank hol weekend, will look at it tomorrow. so you something in, say, cell B50 and you want it to change the date in cell A50?

Can you send the spreadsheet or is it confidential? PM me if you want me to look at it.

Tim.
Grinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Engine required wilfsp1 Parts for Sale 0 04-07-2005 11:38 PM
Few parts required SimonG Parts for Sale 9 05-01-2005 05:56 PM
What is required to make it UK spec Penfold General 2 30-03-2004 09:44 AM
Rain Wizard Moff General 32 23-01-2004 04:56 PM
Whats required for stage 1? Eddie Tuning, Technical Questions 8 23-06-2003 08:56 PM



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2019, Verticalscope Inc.