Problem with the speedo on my 1998 HR34 - Skyline Owners Forum

Welcome to the SkylineOwners.Com website. We aim to provide you with the largest knowledgebase anywhere on the internet for the Nissan Skyline.


Go Back   Skyline Owners Forum > Skyline Torque > N/A Forum


N/A Forum Naturally aspirated technical forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 16-06-2013, 12:19 PM   #1
Registered User
 
DatHR34's Avatar
 
Drives: Nothing ATM
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 41
Club ID#: 44766

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Problem with the speedo on my 1998 HR34

Hey guys, after doing extensive research I couldn't find a solution for this. So the gauge cluster (or speedo) in my 1998 HR34 doesn't always work.. in the sense of if I go over a speed bump the RPM's gauge, the KPH gauge and the engine temp gauge just stop working, but my fuel gauge still works and it still keeps track of the miles. But when I go over another bump it all comes back to life. Any solutions? It's not a fuse, the fuse is fine. Maybe it's the connection from the pin in the back to the speedo itself? Could I possibly have to solder something? Any help would be much appreciated, this problem is driving me nuts.
DatHR34 is offline   Reply With Quote Share on facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 16-06-2013, 12:44 PM   #2
Moderator

Moderator

 
StuartTheFish's Avatar
 
Drives: Spec 1 GTS25t
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Harrogate
Posts: 12,294
Club ID#: 25144

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (1)


View My Pictures
Sounds like a loose connection for the earth of those gauges. Take the cluster out and look for any bad connections, or if you live near Harrogate, bring it round to mine and I'll try sorting it instead.
StuartTheFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2013, 12:47 PM   #3
Member
 
the locksmith's Avatar
 
Drives: the wife up the wall
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: pendle
Posts: 2,460
Club ID#: 23120

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (5)


View My Pictures
The fuel gauge will be cutting out too but when theres no power the needle normally stays in its "reading" position. Loom connection's seems the most likely culprit.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
__________________
when life throws you a curve.... wind on the throttle and put a knee down
the locksmith is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 16-06-2013, 12:52 PM   #4
Moderator

Moderator

 
StuartTheFish's Avatar
 
Drives: Spec 1 GTS25t
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Harrogate
Posts: 12,294
Club ID#: 25144

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (1)


View My Pictures
That said, his odometer doesn't get turned off while driving, and I assume that would use the same ignition feed to activate it while driving. No mention of what his oil pressure gauge does when it happens either. Unless the non turbo doesn't have one of those?
StuartTheFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2013, 05:29 PM   #5
Registered User
 
DatHR34's Avatar
 
Drives: Nothing ATM
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 41
Club ID#: 44766

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Thanks for the offer StuartTheFish, but I live all the way in Germany. And I actually didn't even pay attention to the oil pressure gauge so next time it gets taken out I'll let you guys know. Thanks for the insight guys! I'll take it apart today or tomorrow to see if I can locate any loose connections.
DatHR34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2013, 07:12 PM   #6
Member
 
the locksmith's Avatar
 
Drives: the wife up the wall
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: pendle
Posts: 2,460
Club ID#: 23120

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (5)


View My Pictures
If its just the speedo then you may need to check at the speed sensor end. When mine went it died altogether not just intermittent. New sensor cured it though.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
__________________
when life throws you a curve.... wind on the throttle and put a knee down
the locksmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2013, 07:47 PM   #7
Registered User
 
DatHR34's Avatar
 
Drives: Nothing ATM
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 41
Club ID#: 44766

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Quote:
Originally Posted by the locksmith View Post
If its just the speedo then you may need to check at the speed sensor end. When mine went it died altogether not just intermittent. New sensor cured it though.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
Thanks for the suggestion man! Where would you suggest to be a good place to get them online?
DatHR34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2013, 08:20 PM   #8
Moderator

Moderator

 
StuartTheFish's Avatar
 
Drives: Spec 1 GTS25t
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Harrogate
Posts: 12,294
Club ID#: 25144

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (1)


View My Pictures
You said it wasn't just the speedo?
StuartTheFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2013, 09:40 PM   #9
Registered User
 
DatHR34's Avatar
 
Drives: Nothing ATM
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 41
Club ID#: 44766

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Quote:
Originally Posted by StuartTheFish View Post
You said it wasn't just the speedo?
Correct, it's the Speedo, RPM's gauge and temp gauge. I don't know if it's the oil pressure gauge because I wasn't paying attention to it. Tomorrow I'll take a video of it and post it here, it would be easier than trying to explain it lol

Last edited by DatHR34; 16-06-2013 at 10:04 PM.
DatHR34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2013, 11:28 PM   #10
Member
 
the locksmith's Avatar
 
Drives: the wife up the wall
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: pendle
Posts: 2,460
Club ID#: 23120

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (5)


View My Pictures
another thing to check is the little screws that hold the gauges to the back of the pod. if a previous owner has had it in bits then they could be loose.
__________________
when life throws you a curve.... wind on the throttle and put a knee down
the locksmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2013, 12:13 AM   #11
The Cunning Linguist
 
Balloo2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 13,826
Club ID#: 11517

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (14)


View My Pictures
Is it like this?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K6KlUWRUgfo



Balloo2u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2013, 02:09 AM   #12
Registered User
 
DatHR34's Avatar
 
Drives: Nothing ATM
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 41
Club ID#: 44766

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
I'll definitely check that too locksmith, thanks and Balloo2u, not really. Mine cuts out completely when I hit a bump and then it will come back on when I hit another bump lol
DatHR34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2013, 11:08 PM   #13
Registered User
 
DatHR34's Avatar
 
Drives: Nothing ATM
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 41
Club ID#: 44766

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
ttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ySJuOc6HGsI
DatHR34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2013, 11:09 PM   #14
Registered User
 
DatHR34's Avatar
 
Drives: Nothing ATM
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 41
Club ID#: 44766

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Just add the "H" to the http and skip to 1:27. It does it there
DatHR34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2013, 11:39 AM   #15
The Cunning Linguist
 
Balloo2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 13,826
Club ID#: 11517

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (14)


View My Pictures
Had that when I removed the dash, loose earth, RSP sorted it out when they fitted the new ECU.



Balloo2u is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2019, Verticalscope Inc.