Rb20e spec 2 to rb25det spec 1 - Skyline Owners Forum

Welcome to the SkylineOwners.Com website. We aim to provide you with the largest knowledgebase anywhere on the internet for the Nissan Skyline.


Go Back   Skyline Owners Forum > Skyline Torque > N/A Forum


N/A Forum Naturally aspirated technical forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 04-05-2015, 04:15 PM   #1
@R33_will
 
Drives: R33 Non turbo RB25DET converted
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2
Club ID#: 59754

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Thumbs up Rb20e spec 2 to rb25det spec 1

Has anybody on here converted a non turbo skyline to a spec 1 rb25DET before?? I have a few questions as mine is being an absolute pain to do.. Like the loom I brought doesn't seem to match all plugs on the engine and the start charge loom has a battery plug on it but my battery is in the boot?? It's just an absolute pain the $%# right now and need somebody who knows a skyline inside out to help me.. I can post pictures if needed
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	106
Size:	192.6 KB
ID:	78986  
@R33_will is offline   Reply With Quote Share on facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-05-2015, 06:49 PM   #2
AKA Frenchie

Administrator

 
SPEEDR33PER's Avatar
 
Drives: R33 GTS-T,FULLY MODIFIED ESCORT VAN and the SNOOPYMOBIlE 2
Join Date: May 2006
Location: tillicoultry scotland
Posts: 25,941
Club ID#: 7722

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (13)


View My Pictures
spec 1 and 2 engines are the same the only differances are throttle body wireing,coilpack loom and maybe abs.

you would need a spec 2 loom to even begin to fit it into your car plus ecu
__________________
WWW.JAPSPEED.CO.UK

skylineowners.com mechanic and mot tester
SCOTLAND,CLACKMANNAN
SAUDI ARABIA


Quote:
Originally Posted by andyneed4speed View Post

Nice to see the scottish contingent but I didn't realise we had the legendary Speedr33per in our midst
SPEEDR33PER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 06:54 PM   #3
Seasoned Member
 
Nick_d's Avatar
 
Drives: r33
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Harrow
Posts: 220
Club ID#: 47064


Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
If there is battery terminals in the engine loom it could be a stagea wiring loom? Not sure if any skylines with a rb25det had the battery in the bay.
Nick_d is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 04-05-2015, 07:03 PM   #4
AKA Frenchie

Administrator

 
SPEEDR33PER's Avatar
 
Drives: R33 GTS-T,FULLY MODIFIED ESCORT VAN and the SNOOPYMOBIlE 2
Join Date: May 2006
Location: tillicoultry scotland
Posts: 25,941
Club ID#: 7722

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (13)


View My Pictures
your car has abs so you will need the spec 2 full wireing loom and ecu and either cut and join the wires to your coilpacks and throttle body or go the easiest route and fit spec 2 coilpacks and spec 2 throttle body
__________________
WWW.JAPSPEED.CO.UK

skylineowners.com mechanic and mot tester
SCOTLAND,CLACKMANNAN
SAUDI ARABIA


Quote:
Originally Posted by andyneed4speed View Post

Nice to see the scottish contingent but I didn't realise we had the legendary Speedr33per in our midst
SPEEDR33PER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 09:04 PM   #5
@R33_will
 
Drives: R33 Non turbo RB25DET converted
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2
Club ID#: 59754

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
thanks for the responses guys but do any of you know anybody who could fit these 2 looms together?? i was told you dont have to do this as the engine is a spec 1 and the loom is a spec one?? it connects to everything on the car just not the engine so surely the spec 2 loom wont help me on the spec 1 engine?? and the battery connector does show that the engine was from a stagea so ive just ordered the actual start charge loom for this car..

any help is very much appreciated
@R33_will is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 09:41 PM   #6
AKA Frenchie

Administrator

 
SPEEDR33PER's Avatar
 
Drives: R33 GTS-T,FULLY MODIFIED ESCORT VAN and the SNOOPYMOBIlE 2
Join Date: May 2006
Location: tillicoultry scotland
Posts: 25,941
Club ID#: 7722

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (13)


View My Pictures
Quote:
Originally Posted by @R33_will View Post
thanks for the responses guys but do any of you know anybody who could fit these 2 looms together?? i was told you dont have to do this as the engine is a spec 1 and the loom is a spec one?? it connects to everything on the car just not the engine so surely the spec 2 loom wont help me on the spec 1 engine?? and the battery connector does show that the engine was from a stagea so ive just ordered the actual start charge loom for this car..

any help is very much appreciated
you are trying to mate 2 wireing looms together that are differant and also your car has abs which also runs in the wireing loom and you say your car is a spec 2 so just bunging a spec one loom in wont work without an annoying amount of time when it would be quicker and easier fitting the spec 2 loom with coils and throttle body and the ecu as well which you have got yes??
again the engine itself will fit both spec 1 and 2 as there is no differance its the loom and the bits i said that are differant

splicing is doable but replacing loom with correct one for the car itself makes it easier
__________________
WWW.JAPSPEED.CO.UK

skylineowners.com mechanic and mot tester
SCOTLAND,CLACKMANNAN
SAUDI ARABIA


Quote:
Originally Posted by andyneed4speed View Post

Nice to see the scottish contingent but I didn't realise we had the legendary Speedr33per in our midst
SPEEDR33PER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 10:43 PM   #7
Seasoned Member
 
Nick_d's Avatar
 
Drives: r33
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Harrow
Posts: 220
Club ID#: 47064


Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Rb20e spec 2 to rb25det spec 1

I bought a spec 2 rb25det engine to put into my spec1 rb20 shell.

I converted the engine to spec1 .

To convert yours to spec2 you will need
Spec 2:
Engine loom
Starting and charging loom
Coilpack loom
Coilpacks
Throttle body
Throttle position sensor
Mass air flow sensor

Then it will be plug and play

Last edited by Nick_d; 04-05-2015 at 10:48 PM.
Nick_d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2015, 02:17 PM   #8
Seasoned Member
 
conceptua's Avatar
 
Drives: Staff Rides- R30 GT Turbo Skyline, R33 GTS-T, Drifty S14 200SX, Toyota MR-S, Cherokee 4.0L Ltd
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Any further south and you will be in the sea...
Posts: 6,068
Club ID#: 13298


Trade Feedback: (51)


View My Pictures
Quote:
Originally Posted by @R33_will View Post
thanks for the responses guys but do any of you know anybody who could fit these 2 looms together?? i was told you dont have to do this as the engine is a spec 1 and the loom is a spec one?? it connects to everything on the car just not the engine so surely the spec 2 loom wont help me on the spec 1 engine?? and the battery connector does show that the engine was from a stagea so ive just ordered the actual start charge loom for this car..

any help is very much appreciated
Series 1 Stageas use the Spec 2 RB25DET engine...
conceptua is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
conversion, gtst r33, r33, rb20e, rb25det


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2019, Verticalscope Inc.