Tuning - Skyline Owners Forum

Welcome to the SkylineOwners.Com website. We aim to provide you with the largest knowledgebase anywhere on the internet for the Nissan Skyline.


Go Back   Skyline Owners Forum > G35/350GT Forum > General 350/g35


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 07-07-2015, 02:30 AM   #1
FTO
 
Drives: 350GT
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 33
Club ID#: 49439

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Tuning

Wondering about this. For those that have done it or looked into it, is tuning worth it?

Currently the exhaust has been done and it has a K&N panel filter. Can much be expected in terms of power and even reduced fuel consumption? I notice alot of places do not mention they can do GTs but they all offer the tune for Zs, same deal?

Sorry for being total noob but I see plenum spacers mentioned alot. Any good reading on them?
STRYDG is offline   Reply With Quote Share on facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-07-2015, 10:23 AM   #2
Super Moderator
 
Tricky-Ricky's Avatar
 
Drives: Skyline 350GT 6 speed
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 8,931
Club ID#: 5836


Trade Feedback: (1)


View My Pictures
You can add what you like, but unless you remap the ECU you wont see any gains, the only mapping software that I know of is the US Up-rev, you can go stand alone if you know a decent mapper, but the gains are minimal like most N/As.

With the right parts you can see up to 300 flywheel BHP from the factory 276BHP.
__________________
Pedants are men who would appear to be learned, without the necessary ingredient of knowledge.
- George Bancroft

Originally posted The Great White

"Nissan is like Lego"
Tricky-Ricky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2015, 09:01 AM   #3
FTO
 
Drives: 350GT
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 33
Club ID#: 49439

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Sounds alright. Will look into it once new rims are on her.

Sorry gonna fire a few more Qs rather than starting a topic. Will the remap delimit the 180km speed cap? If so, what speeds are they capable of?

Now an unrelated question. Best way to take off from a still start? So much torque that the wheels always spin!
STRYDG is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 09-07-2015, 11:05 AM   #4
Super Moderator
 
Tricky-Ricky's Avatar
 
Drives: Skyline 350GT 6 speed
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 8,931
Club ID#: 5836


Trade Feedback: (1)


View My Pictures
The Up Rev software can remove the limit, as for launch you will just need to perfect you method IE not use to much RPM and slip clutch, however this will cause premature clutch wear.
Of course the other option is to fit a stand alone ECU with its own launch control.
__________________
Pedants are men who would appear to be learned, without the necessary ingredient of knowledge.
- George Bancroft

Originally posted The Great White

"Nissan is like Lego"
Tricky-Ricky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2015, 03:02 AM   #5
Seasoned Member
 
Hiro's Avatar
 
Drives: Infiniti G35 (US spec)
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 134
Club ID#: 47524

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
I agree with what Tricky says in regards to the mapping an Uprev seems to be what most people are using, especially if you go to Abbey or Horsham. Also, like Trick said whatever mods you add, you won't see gains until its re-mapped. But, if you are going to map, maybe it would be cost effective to do some intake mods as well.

Depending on the year of your car, personally, a motordyne plenum spacer, Nissan Z-tube, and oem 2006 air box with a velocity stacker to complete the intake portion. If you have a rev-up engine, then you may need the motordyne plenum as well. I figure if you are going to map it and you have the exhaust take care of, you might as well do the intake portion too.

As far as speeds, I did not know the Japanese specs had a limiter. I have a US spec and I did not have a limiter. So, without any mods or mapping I could push a 156-157mph steadily on the German autobahns. Above 145 its takes a bit of climbing to get there, but you can hold those speeds if the roads are clear.
Hiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2015, 10:07 AM   #6
Super Moderator
 
Tricky-Ricky's Avatar
 
Drives: Skyline 350GT 6 speed
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 8,931
Club ID#: 5836


Trade Feedback: (1)


View My Pictures
Just to point out the JDM Skyline 350GT V35 never got the rev up engine, they just went straight to the HR version in the V36.

And yes about 155 is the limit.
__________________
Pedants are men who would appear to be learned, without the necessary ingredient of knowledge.
- George Bancroft

Originally posted The Great White

"Nissan is like Lego"
Tricky-Ricky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2015, 02:12 PM   #7
Highland/North Scotland Area Rep

Area Rep

 
shakysco's Avatar
 
Drives: Skyline number 4, A 350gt
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: the black isle,north of inverness
Posts: 4,159
Club ID#: 13806

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (6)


View My Pictures
I found out last week my 350gt has a impul map, all done in Japan, so as yet I've not a clue what the gains are etc.

need to get it onto a rolling road and see
__________________
Skyline number 3 is away to a new owner, and I've moved on and bought myself skyline number 4 a 350gt skyline with manual box..

http://www.gosh.org/
shakysco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2015, 02:22 PM   #8
North highlands area rep

Area Rep

 
andy d's Avatar
 
Drives: R33 GTST IMPUL525G
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: highlands scotland
Posts: 7,857
Club ID#: 7012

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
I take it that you have a impul ECU
__________________
OO IMPUL 525G 00
www.SkylineOwners.com

LOCH NESS RUN

GUMBALL 2008-2009-2010-2011-2012-2013-2014-2015.
andy d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2015, 03:29 PM   #9
Highland/North Scotland Area Rep

Area Rep

 
shakysco's Avatar
 
Drives: Skyline number 4, A 350gt
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: the black isle,north of inverness
Posts: 4,159
Club ID#: 13806

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (6)


View My Pictures
Doesn't have to be in the 350gt's Andy, The Nissan Ecu's can be mapped by Impul.
__________________
Skyline number 3 is away to a new owner, and I've moved on and bought myself skyline number 4 a 350gt skyline with manual box..

http://www.gosh.org/
shakysco is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2019, Verticalscope Inc.