Something's wrong :'( - Skyline Owners Forum

Welcome to the SkylineOwners.Com website. We aim to provide you with the largest knowledgebase anywhere on the internet for the Nissan Skyline.


Go Back   Skyline Owners Forum > G35/350GT Forum > General 350/g35


Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By PDtuning
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 19-09-2016, 05:01 PM   #1
Seasoned Member
 
SlickRick's Avatar
 
Drives: 350GT
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Carshalton, Surrey
Posts: 386
Club ID#: 21726

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Something's wrong :'(

Asking for advice incase anybody has been through it.

Last week the car wouldn't start for a few mins. It was turning over but just wouldn't come on, after a couple tries I waited a few minutes and when I tried again it started. I thought it was odd and left it there.

In the last 3days it has just cut out a few times at random regardless of whether I am moving or not takes a little longer than usual to turn over but does start back up. today in half an hour it done it twice! When I started it back up the first time today I had slip, vdc off and engine lights stay on & they've stayed on since.

The only thing I've done recently is cut off the air con belt as it was beginning to crack, will be replacing both the belts soon.

If anybody has experienced this or has any knowledge on it please let me know! I think the inevitable stop with no start is creeping up on me!

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
__________________
she grabbed my gear stick, so i clogged her down pipe
SlickRick is offline   Reply With Quote Share on facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 19-09-2016, 08:29 PM   #2
Area Rep

Area Rep

 
saihaynes's Avatar
 
Drives: Skyline 350GT
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Swindon
Posts: 1,798
Club ID#: 21825

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Check to see if any codes are being logged dude, I had the same symptoms with one of my camshaft sensors playing up last year...


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
saihaynes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2016, 10:29 PM   #3
Seasoned Member
 
vangeezer's Avatar
 
Drives: R34 GTT
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Somerset
Posts: 1,714
Club ID#: 31616

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (3)


View My Pictures
As above I would say the camshaft sensor may be on the way out. If the car does conk out on you again take a spark plug out (with the coil pack still on), hold plug against cam cover or anything metal, take the sensor out (leaving it plugged in) and turn the half moon bit by hand if you don't get a spark then it's more than likely to be that. I had similar symptoms when mine went. Not cheap if you need a brand new one mind!
__________________
Oo_____oO

My project thread so far...
https://www.skylineowners.com/forum/s...d.php?t=196982
vangeezer is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 19-09-2016, 11:57 PM   #4
Seasoned Member
 
SlickRick's Avatar
 
Drives: 350GT
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Carshalton, Surrey
Posts: 386
Club ID#: 21726

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Thanks guys, this is all great fun with my tax n mot due end of the month 😭😭

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
__________________
she grabbed my gear stick, so i clogged her down pipe
SlickRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2016, 11:12 PM   #5
Seasoned Member
 
SlickRick's Avatar
 
Drives: 350GT
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Carshalton, Surrey
Posts: 386
Club ID#: 21726

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Managed to get a computer on it. It is the camshaft sensor. I think I'll source one myself and have a garage do it will some other bits I need done for mot. Also woke to a flat tyre with a nice 5" screw in it this morning! Mot week is a blast

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
__________________
she grabbed my gear stick, so i clogged her down pipe
SlickRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2016, 04:21 PM   #6
Seasoned Member
 
SlickRick's Avatar
 
Drives: 350GT
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Carshalton, Surrey
Posts: 386
Club ID#: 21726

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
I didn't ask, but the garage told me the part is dealer only. I've found it online but should I be really careful with who I purchase from?

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
__________________
she grabbed my gear stick, so i clogged her down pipe

Last edited by SlickRick; 23-09-2016 at 05:16 PM.
SlickRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2016, 04:45 PM   #7
Seasoned Member
 
vangeezer's Avatar
 
Drives: R34 GTT
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Somerset
Posts: 1,714
Club ID#: 31616

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (3)


View My Pictures
If your getting a new camshaft sensor order it directly through Nissan. That's what I did but had to wait about two weeks delivery from Japan from memory
__________________
Oo_____oO

My project thread so far...
https://www.skylineowners.com/forum/s...d.php?t=196982
vangeezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2016, 07:52 PM   #8
Seasoned Member
 
SlickRick's Avatar
 
Drives: 350GT
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Carshalton, Surrey
Posts: 386
Club ID#: 21726

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
I thought I was smart ordered the cam pos shaft sensor for a 350z via the Nissan parts site and it didn't fit.

So I called them gave them my chassis number the part is in stock so I should be able to grab it tomorrow from my local nissan! I was dreading that 2wk wait more than the price! 91

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
__________________
she grabbed my gear stick, so i clogged her down pipe
SlickRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2016, 12:07 PM   #9
Seasoned Member
 
SlickRick's Avatar
 
Drives: 350GT
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Carshalton, Surrey
Posts: 386
Club ID#: 21726

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
More updates! Wrong part again somehow! So I'm going to take it in to nissan to give it checked so they can check it (I swear if they tell me they ran it through the computer and it's the cam pos sensor but want to charge me 75 for checking what I told them was wrong I may genuinely cry) looking forward to the fee for fitting a part that takes 2mins to fit 😭

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
__________________
she grabbed my gear stick, so i clogged her down pipe
SlickRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2016, 12:23 PM   #10
Super Moderator
 
Tricky-Ricky's Avatar
 
Drives: Skyline 350GT 6 speed
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 8,931
Club ID#: 5836


Trade Feedback: (1)


View My Pictures
I would suspect that the Nissan parts guy is looking at the UK 350Z rather than the JDM version, which will be why its the wrong part, not quite sure why the UK part wont fit though.
__________________
Pedants are men who would appear to be learned, without the necessary ingredient of knowledge.
- George Bancroft

Originally posted The Great White

"Nissan is like Lego"
Tricky-Ricky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2016, 08:46 PM   #11
Area Rep

Area Rep

 
saihaynes's Avatar
 
Drives: Skyline 350GT
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Swindon
Posts: 1,798
Club ID#: 21825

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Is it bank 1 or bank 2? I could be wrong but if memory serves me they are different.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
saihaynes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2016, 11:51 PM   #12
Seasoned Member
 
SlickRick's Avatar
 
Drives: 350GT
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Carshalton, Surrey
Posts: 386
Club ID#: 21726

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Ye that's what I though aswel. It's the drivers side as there are 2banks that's right. First one was just a 350z (non jdm) sensor. This one I would've expected to be right as I gave chassis number for it but no 😒

Earliest appointment is 7days from today and they won't do it while I wait. Headache! Takes 10mins to run a computer & fit the part if they have it.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
__________________
she grabbed my gear stick, so i clogged her down pipe

Last edited by SlickRick; 11-10-2016 at 11:54 PM.
SlickRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2016, 01:23 AM   #13
Always Seeking Perfection
 
PDtuning's Avatar
 
Drives: 93 R32 GTR
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Dunleer Co. Louth Ireland
Posts: 1,616
Club ID#: 14629

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (3)


View My Pictures
Simon si has one for sale.
Look him up here or Simon Moore on Facebook. He bought a new one and didn't need it
Sorry his is r33 2.5
SlickRick likes this.

Last edited by PDtuning; 13-10-2016 at 01:25 AM.
PDtuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2016, 03:18 PM   #14
Seasoned Member
 
SlickRick's Avatar
 
Drives: 350GT
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Carshalton, Surrey
Posts: 386
Club ID#: 21726

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Quote:
Originally Posted by PDtuning View Post
Simon si has one for sale.
Look him up here or Simon Moore on Facebook. He bought a new one and didn't need it
Sorry his is r33 2.5
No worries

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
__________________
she grabbed my gear stick, so i clogged her down pipe
SlickRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2016, 02:42 PM   #15
Seasoned Member
 
Drives: 350gt, R33 gtst, golf tdi!
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Posts: 374
Club ID#: 35898

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Thought the sensors would be the same, it is a vq35de so why different for UK and JDM?
nick350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2019, Verticalscope Inc.