Confused about speedo/odometer! - Skyline Owners Forum

Welcome to the SkylineOwners.Com website. We aim to provide you with the largest knowledgebase anywhere on the internet for the Nissan Skyline.


Go Back   Skyline Owners Forum > G35/350GT Forum > General 350/g35


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 26-10-2016, 11:31 AM   #1
Super Moderator
 
Tricky-Ricky's Avatar
 
Drives: Skyline 350GT 6 speed
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 8,932
Club ID#: 5836


Trade Feedback: (1)


View My Pictures
Confused about speedo/odometer!

On import they are usually converted to read in miles and MPH,
and can you please post in the right section when asking questions, the newbie section is just for introductions.
__________________
Pedants are men who would appear to be learned, without the necessary ingredient of knowledge.
- George Bancroft

Originally posted The Great White

"Nissan is like Lego"
Tricky-Ricky is offline   Reply With Quote Share on facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 26-10-2016, 11:39 AM   #2
Seasoned Member
 
57jam's Avatar
 
Drives: Nissan skyline 350gt
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Wiltshire
Posts: 205
Club ID#: 78370


Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Confused about speedo/odometer!

Hi all,
I'm looking to get a 350gt soon but at the moment I'm confused about the speedo etc.

So then they are imported it's all in km so that happens to get registered/moted?

Then after it's registered/moted the what reads in miles, the odometer or speedo?

Thanks.
57jam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2016, 02:06 PM   #3
Seasoned Member
 
57jam's Avatar
 
Drives: Nissan skyline 350gt
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Wiltshire
Posts: 205
Club ID#: 78370


Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Hi,
Sorry about posting in wrong section!

So the odometer is converted as well, so how do you know what the true mileage is if it's been here for 7 years?
57jam is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 26-10-2016, 03:31 PM   #4
Super Moderator
 
Tricky-Ricky's Avatar
 
Drives: Skyline 350GT 6 speed
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 8,932
Club ID#: 5836


Trade Feedback: (1)


View My Pictures
Unfortunately unless it has documented history from before and the point where it was converted you don't.
__________________
Pedants are men who would appear to be learned, without the necessary ingredient of knowledge.
- George Bancroft

Originally posted The Great White

"Nissan is like Lego"
Tricky-Ricky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2016, 08:51 PM   #5
Seasoned Member
 
57jam's Avatar
 
Drives: Nissan skyline 350gt
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Wiltshire
Posts: 205
Club ID#: 78370


Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Ok so if I take the otometer reading from the 1st mot and convert it to miles then add on the miles from that mot to present day = tolal miles!

I think I got this right.
57jam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2016, 08:33 AM   #6
Seasoned Member
 
57jam's Avatar
 
Drives: Nissan skyline 350gt
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Wiltshire
Posts: 205
Club ID#: 78370


Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
I have been looking at a few gts for sale and 2 owners have replied saying their speedo is mph and otometer is km.

So this is a bit confusing trying to work out the car's true mileage.
57jam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2016, 12:01 PM   #7
Super Moderator
 
Tricky-Ricky's Avatar
 
Drives: Skyline 350GT 6 speed
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 8,932
Club ID#: 5836


Trade Feedback: (1)


View My Pictures
They are obviously misinformed, if you convert the electronics to read in MPH the odometer will also clock up in miles as they are linked, so once converted, the original klms figure should be recorded and then converted into mls, and then added to the whatever has been recorded since the conversion.

Which is why its so difficult to find the true mileage.
__________________
Pedants are men who would appear to be learned, without the necessary ingredient of knowledge.
- George Bancroft

Originally posted The Great White

"Nissan is like Lego"
Tricky-Ricky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2016, 05:42 PM   #8
Seasoned Member
 
57jam's Avatar
 
Drives: Nissan skyline 350gt
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Wiltshire
Posts: 205
Club ID#: 78370


Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tricky-Ricky View Post
They are obviously misinformed, if you convert the electronics to read in MPH the odometer will also clock up in miles as they are linked, so once converted, the original klms figure should be recorded and then converted into mls, and then added to the whatever has been recorded since the conversion.

Which is why its so difficult to find the true mileage.
Yes your totally right!

It's a shame because if I'm going to spend 4/5k on a gt I don't want some one claiming it's done 100,000 miles then it's true mileage is 150,000!

Just found this-

Speedometer conversion chip

These are wired in to the car’s electronics. Speed is displayed in mph and distance is recorded in miles from the point of fitment onwards. They do not convert already recorded distance on the odometer from kilometers to miles. The speedometer dial face is amended to reflect the new units but is otherwise unchanged. This is done by covering the kmh lettering with a mph sticker, or in a ‘budget’ conversion by blacking out the k of km/h to leave m/h.
57jam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2016, 09:41 PM   #9
Seasoned Member
 
57jam's Avatar
 
Drives: Nissan skyline 350gt
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Wiltshire
Posts: 205
Club ID#: 78370


Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Well I viewed a fresh import today, it was a white 2003 model which was in every good condition but was top money.
Then I asked about the speedo still showing kmp he was there's no need to have the speedo chip changed because if you do it restricts the car and changes it's maps!

Also find some every small bubbles under the paint on the rear wing so I will give it a miss.
57jam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2016, 12:32 AM   #10
Super Moderator
 
Tricky-Ricky's Avatar
 
Drives: Skyline 350GT 6 speed
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 8,932
Club ID#: 5836


Trade Feedback: (1)


View My Pictures
He is feeding you bullshite.
__________________
Pedants are men who would appear to be learned, without the necessary ingredient of knowledge.
- George Bancroft

Originally posted The Great White

"Nissan is like Lego"
Tricky-Ricky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2016, 11:27 AM   #11
Moderator
 
Timmy_GTS's Avatar
 
Drives: R34 GTT
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Lincoln
Posts: 2,723
Club ID#: 25953

Country Flag

Trade Feedback: (3)


View My Pictures
Quote:
Originally Posted by 57jam View Post
he was there's no need to have the speedo chip changed because if you do it restricts the car and changes it's maps!
That's a man who doesn't have a clue about the car he's selling.
Good job you walked away!

Sent from my D6603 using Tapatalk
__________________
Project Bumblebee - 451 RWHP
^^ Click Me ^^


To make sure you can see all the pictures, use Google Chrome with the following patch installed:


Photobucket Embed Fix
Timmy_GTS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2016, 02:20 PM   #12
Seasoned Member
 
57jam's Avatar
 
Drives: Nissan skyline 350gt
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Wiltshire
Posts: 205
Club ID#: 78370


Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timmy_GTS View Post
That's a man who doesn't have a clue about the car he's selling.
Good job you walked away!

Sent from my D6603 using Tapatalk
And it said he has been importing all types of skylines for the last 3 years.
Also said it went for it's 1st mot last week but then found out it was moted 6 mths ago.
57jam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2016, 09:48 PM   #13
Seasoned Member
 
original_sid4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 234
Club ID#: 33914


Trade Feedback: (0)


View My Pictures
I have noticed a lot of sellers saying the clocks were converted to mph, but then say the actual recorded mileage is km. So it gives the impression the cars mileage is a lot less than what it actually is.

Load of bull$h1t!! is all i say and trying to pull a fast one.

If its converted in MPH then its reading and recording in mph
original_sid4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2019, Verticalscope Inc.