Skyline Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
770 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
well i was in the gf's car that i am a named driver on and i was stopped by a traffic cop who told me i had no insurance! turns out that after we phoned the insurance company they had made a mistake of not transferring our policy over to the new car even tho they said it was now insured :swear:

anyway i got a fixed 6 points but was told i can appeal at court if i wanted.
insurance company wont take any responsibility so i cant use that in court but as i have been doing vehicle related jobs over the years i need a licence with a max of 3 points
due to most employer's work/trade insurance policys, can i fight with that as it stops me working in the industry i know and love? i mean i was totally unaware being a named driver and need a clean licence for jobs

·
Registered
2,970 Posts
does your trade policy not cover you?

If not, then you need to go and see a solicitor asap. The problem you have is that its your word against the insurance companys if you dont have any proof they changed the policy.

guess if you go to court then you stand a chance of geeting the same punishment along with court costs. You may be able to get the points lowered and a bigger fine. Depends on the judge tho, imagaine how many people say this to try and get away with it.

Maybe a phone bill with proof of you phoning them when the car was exchanged, tied in with log book dates etc.

·
516ATF and RWD......Nutter!!
1,685 Posts
Most insurance companies record calls for training....ask for a copy of the phone call.

Didn't they send out new documents for you to check???

·
Registered
770 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
we dont have trade insurance, i just mean the garages i have worked at always say 3 points max as the insurance they use wont cover a employee to drive customer cars.