Skyline Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
469 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to all this turbo malarky. Can someone explain what blow off valves and turbo timers do, or point me so a website which explains such things.

Cheers

·
Registered
2,433 Posts
Hi mate!

Blow off valves (aka dump valves) have a very simple yet useful function....

When the turbo is 'working', ie you have the foot on the gas and its producing 'boost', what the turbo is doing is compressing air (to get more into the cylinders - more air in (with fuel) gives more power). This air is passed thru the intercooler to cool it (cos when you compress it it get warm, but the engine needs air thats as cold as possible to get power) then it goes thru the throttle body and into the engine. Now, if the turbo is compressing this air, then as you can imagine there's a lot of air under pressure whooshing towards the throttle butterfly (go faster device) which is open when you are pressing the go pedal. If you lift off the throttle to change gear or slow down, the throttle butterfly closes. Where does the air go???? There's a lot of it under pressure, remember. Well, normally it get trapped and produces backpressure (ie it pushes back against the turbo) which can damage the turbo over time. It forces the turbo to slow down/stop completely very suddenly. So, when you put the foot down again, it takes a wee while for the turbo to spin back up to operating speed.

A dump valve vents this excess pressure created when you lift off the throttle. It sounds wicked too, as well as keeping the turbo spinning and preolonging its life.