Skyline Owners Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm new to all this - I've just bought a 1996 GTS-T M-Spec II which has a few basic mods (as far as we can tell!) - 17" alloys, panel air filter, cat-back exhaust and a blow-off valve. We suspect it also has an air-flow meter but haven't found it yet!!

My questions are these -

1. I understand that I can increase boost to around 10psi without running any major risk of blowing the stock turbo. Is the Apexi turbo controller the one to go for, or is there a better / cheaper alternative?

2. Is it possible to use a ICE head unit with a TFT display to display the output from various controllers, so everything appears on the one display?

Like I said, I'm new to this! Help gratefully accepted!!

And my "handle" is UKPonchoMan because I'm having a break from being into Yanks - I've had 4 Trans Ams but wanted something RHD that would handle a 130 mile daily commute and go - my last car was a HSV GTS!!

E

·
0 Posts
UKPonchoMan said:
We suspect it also has an air-flow meter but haven't found it yet!!

1. I understand that I can increase boost to around 10psi without running any major risk of blowing the stock turbo. Is the Apexi turbo controller the one to go for, or is there a better / cheaper alternative?
The AFM is located in a black pipe directly after the air filter. Its got an electrical plug going to it.

STD turbo is good for around .8 bar (13psi ish)
I`ve got an Apexi AVC-R & i think its the dogs under parts. And ive never heard anyone moan about them.

·
Registered
475 Posts
i use to run .85bar any more and good by turbo
my mspecII was amking 356 bhp when dyno tested

as for interfacing tft etc you must have the right output
you need composite video out put for most tft screen etc
e.g yellow rca plug some equipment use svhs out put and this is hard to change
i once tried to get a lap top running a motec program to run thru