Skyline Owners Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,556 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi everyone

im just wondering what people do in the car industry, obviously the one that springs to mind is mechanic. however im not qualified.
so wondering what epopel have managed to set up themselves. i really want to get into somat to do with cars, my passion. i would love to be working at a tuners, working in parts or fitting. but prob parts as im not qualified to mechanic nor the best mechanic. just wondering what peopel do and what provides an income. or something i could maybe train in.

my main thing for changing as well is the cut of my salery, which may mean the skyline would have to go :shakehead:

anyway thoughts appreciated.

·
R32 GTR
1,562 Posts
I work in the motor trade.

Try and get an apprenticeship with a manufacturer, no tuner is going to hire you until you are time serviced if your looking at being a mechanic although most manufacturers don't have mechanics anymore they are fitters who simply replace broken bits with new bits.

Parts is more difficult than a fitter because you pretty much have to know the fitters job too, for example they ask you to order a flywheel, you need to know what else they need, like bolts, dowls etc. You get a job card with a description of whats wrong with car, you need to know what parts are likely to be needed so you can order them in so the customer doesnt have to come back twice etc.

I started off in sales, which is great until you end up scrapping with other sales people over whos sale is whos. Good money in sales though

·
Registered
318 Posts
Hows about learning how to paint and opening up a bodyshop?

You can learn upholstery at college as well these days...

As you will see from my website...I set up my interior business earlier this year but have been working in the industry since I was 16...

www.lsc-interiors.co.uk

anythings possible mate

·
Registered
1,556 Posts
Discussion Starter #4