Skyline Owners Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts
S

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all I'm new to the forms. Just picked up a r32 gtr 8 days ago and Last night I started to hear a knock noise I really can't tell you where it is coming from but it sounds like the head I also filmed a video from inside the car you can really hear it when I get close to the dash any help will be much appreciated http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fVoAxOji7rk&feature=youtube_gdata_player

·
AKA RSP
4,762 Posts
Most common reason is the bigend bearings which can quite often sound like the head as the piston will be tapping it if the bearing has gone.

Best thing would be to go get it checked out.

·
Super Moderator
9,033 Posts
Difficult to pass judgment on the noise for inside the cabin, but with that sort of rhythm it dose sound like ends, however i would also listen under the bonnet, also gradually increase the RPM to about 3k if its ends it will start to resonate.

S

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Difficult to pass judgment on the noise for inside the cabin, but with that sort of rhythm it dose sound like ends, however i would also listen under the bonnet, also gradually increase the RPM to about 3k if its ends it will start to resonate.
ok give me one minute and i will give you another video

·
Registered
1,237 Posts
Needs to be checked out mate, hate to say it but if you go under the bonnet hold revs at 3k rpm and let the revs drop, if you here a dull knocking noise its usually the bottom end that's goosed :(

I wouldnt panic just yet it could also be a lot of other things...try not to drive it as it may cause more damage

S

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
here is another video i am pretty sure now that it is the bottom end just want some clarification on it before i move further and the car is staying parked till it is fixed im just pondering if i should build the bottom end while i am in there

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W7EokdvHTt0

·
Administrator
25,964 Posts