Skyline Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It turns out one of my spark plugs was destroyed:swear:.... like proper messed up! does anyone know what could have caused this?
Cheers​

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Tell me about it! theres no way round having to take the head off anyway i dont think! im not the best with skylines as ive only owned this one for about 3 months now so im still learning!

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
haha i know i dont want to take it off! has to be done though! altough i might not evan know what im accutally looking for tbh! im going to hope its nothing that i wont be able to fix myself as i was looking forward to taking a trip down to the nurnburgring soon! anytips on what i should get before starting to take the head... for example new head gasget is obviasly needed but more then that im not to sure!

·
No longer a rep :( but still here :)
6,432 Posts
Might as well do the cam belt while the head is off and the belt tensioners, Also check ancilery belts. May as well get a top end gasket set, Even if you dont need them, its always good to change to fresh gaskets for piece of mind

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
yeah im not to sure if i can do all the myself haha....but its pretty much changing everything....aswell as cam seals and stuff aswell. just ashame means it will be off the road for a while! :(

·
6,432 Posts
Na man, you could do it one saturday, whip the head of friday night, Work late! Have it in to the engineers in the morning to check it over, Reface (skim) whatever else it needs. Whack it back on in the evening Work late again in to the night and have it done for sun morning. Its 100% do-able. Ive don e it and im sure many others have. I know its not the same but did my MG van in march, head off, head skimed, head back on and running for the afternoon.