Skyline Owners Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
FTO
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Wondering about this. For those that have done it or looked into it, is tuning worth it?

Currently the exhaust has been done and it has a K&N panel filter. Can much be expected in terms of power and even reduced fuel consumption? I notice alot of places do not mention they can do GTs but they all offer the tune for Zs, same deal?

Sorry for being total noob but I see plenum spacers mentioned alot. Any good reading on them?

·
Super Moderator
8,969 Posts
You can add what you like, but unless you remap the ECU you wont see any gains, the only mapping software that I know of is the US Up-rev, you can go stand alone if you know a decent mapper, but the gains are minimal like most N/As.

With the right parts you can see up to 300 flywheel BHP from the factory 276BHP.

·
FTO
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Sounds alright. Will look into it once new rims are on her.

Sorry gonna fire a few more Qs rather than starting a topic. Will the remap delimit the 180km speed cap? If so, what speeds are they capable of?

Now an unrelated question. Best way to take off from a still start? So much torque that the wheels always spin!

·
Super Moderator
8,969 Posts
The Up Rev software can remove the limit, as for launch you will just need to perfect you method IE not use to much RPM and slip clutch, however this will cause premature clutch wear.
Of course the other option is to fit a stand alone ECU with its own launch control.

·
Registered
134 Posts
I agree with what Tricky says in regards to the mapping an Uprev seems to be what most people are using, especially if you go to Abbey or Horsham. Also, like Trick said whatever mods you add, you won't see gains until its re-mapped. But, if you are going to map, maybe it would be cost effective to do some intake mods as well.