Skyline Owners Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
157 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone ever run one of these? I have never heard of them but I am still very new to modding my skyline. (I haven't done anything) although I've had it about 5-6 years. I have been offered one would like some advice as funds are a bit shy of a link ecu.

Thanks.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

·
Super Moderator
8,950 Posts
Unichip accesses the ECU via the OBD port, I would doubt very much that it can communicate with EOBD which is what import Skylines use, most OBD diagnostics cant read them, also I am pretty sure that you cant change any major ECU parameters via the OBD port on the earlier Skylines.

·
Registered
157 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Unichip accesses the ECU via the OBD port, I would doubt very much that it can communicate with EOBD which is what import Skylines use, most OBD diagnostics cant read them, also I am pretty sure that you cant change any major ECU parameters via the OBD port on the earlier Skylines.
Thanks for the advice mate.

·
Registered
219 Posts
If funds are tight, what about one of Bells/RSP chips - I think they're for R33 and not too bad priced.

Also quite cheap is the Ecumaster det3. It's a piggyback and does have base maps for Skylines. I thought about it for a while and haven't ruled it out. You might find it interesting reading even if it's not for you. However, there is an argument I've heard a few times for choosing your tuner then using the device they work with - rather than choosing a device then finding a tuner who works with it.

·
Registered
157 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
If funds are tight, what about one of Bells/RSP chips - I think they're for R33 and not too bad priced.