Skyline Owners Forum banner
1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
1,248 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i got caught by a mobile camara van just befor xmas

main road between 2 towns a 40 mph limit

i was overtaking a car and one of those little red road sweaping vans with its orange flashing light on. didnt see the camera van till to late and i was recorded at 66mph

ive allready had the first letter and sent that back sying i was driving.

i rang up today as i still havnt head back from them and was told 66mph in a 40mph is the exact point where its a go to court job ...

so any idea what to expect?

short ban maybe? fine size?

any point in pleading mitigating sercumstances? i.e. overtaking an obviously slow moving hazard as quickliy and safely as possible?

ideas please folks

·
Registered
1,248 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
ive allready been told its going to court im just waiting for the date to come through..

i cant really say id loose my job as i work in a factory, and only live 500 yards from work..

but cheers for the reply mark.

·
Registered
1,248 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
cheers mark ...

hmm 5-6 points added to the 3 i allredy have sounds expensive come insurance renual time.

interesting site.. thanks again.

·
stuck in the middle .....with you
8,249 Posts
you are never allowed to break the limit but you can argue that while overtaking the car as it was doing 35 in a 40 he sped up to 40 so made you "have" to accelerate to avoid a dangerous situation therefore you "had" to break the speed limit :)

·
Seasoned Member
7,044 Posts
Hang on, i'm pretty sure you're allowed to break the limit if your overtaking (if its safe etc).

Stuck in my mind from when i passed my test.
same as what i was told by a driving examiner, but its a grey area